Price £40.00 Interactive £25.00 eLearning
Delivery Type Face to face
Training Provider Scottish Childminding Association

Inspection Insights

The Care Inspectorate inspect childminders using the eight wellbeing indicators within the Getting it Right for Every Child (GIRFEC) framework. 

This course is designed to help you understand the importance of the self-assessment process and how to keep yourself prepared for inspection by continually updating the information you provide. It aims to familiarise childminders with the process of self-assessment, the inspection methodology and the types of evidence required.

This course aims to give childminders the support needed to:

  • Monitor the quality of care you give children.
  • Confirm good practice and identify poor practice to make sure this improves.
  • Provide information about the quality of care to the public.

Key learning during this course includes understanding and explaining:

  1. The role and functions of the Care Inspectorate.
  2. The legal requirements you must follow as a childminder.
  3. The National Health and Social Care Standards and what you do to ensure you meet these.
  4. What policies and procedures you must have available as a childminder.
  5. How to keep up to date with changes in legislation and keep information related to this up to date.
  6. The evidence to be provided for Inspectors and how this informs the grading process.
  7. How to involve children and parents/carers in the self-evaluation/self-assessment of a childminding service.

Course outcomes:

When you have completed this course, your core knowledge and understanding will include:

  1. The role and range of quality assurance systems for Early Learning and Childcare services.
  2. Key roles and responsibilities in relation to delivering quality assurance systems and resources that may be necessary to implement such a system.
  3. Key policies, practices and procedures which will ensure a quality childcare service and meet the requirements of quality assurance systems.
  4. Why it is important to have a timed plan for reviewing quality assurance and implementing any changes.
  5. Roles and functions of the Care Inspectorate and the Care Inspectorate Self-Assessment process.
  6. Relevant Scottish Government legislation, frameworks and guidance in relation to Early Learning and Childcare.

Training Provider Overview

We help childminders build on their Continuous Professional Learning. This includes interactive learning courses, e-Learning courses and access to webinars, network meetings, conferences and complimentary courses Taking part in these opportunities enables childminders to take responsibility for both their professional development and that of their childminding service – focusing on children, to help them achieve their full potential. We actively encourage childminders to take the opportunity to build on their knowledge, skills and professional growth throughout their career. SCMA is proud to be a SQA Approved Centre, which means that in addition to providing our own, bespoke learning opportunities, the Learn with SCMA team can also deliver SQA qualifications. The SQA qualification that we currently deliver is the Complete Childminding Learning Pathway - a Work Based Award, which is credit rated at Level 7 on the Scottish Credit Qualifications Framework (SCQF).

Training Provider Contact Details

Provider Name: Scottish Childminding Association

Contact Name: Learn with SCMA

Telephone: 01786 445377



Quality Assurance

SCMA are commited to ensuring that on-going quality improvement is an integral part of our organisation. The Learn with SCMA team aims for continuous improvement in the quality of all aspects of its work as part of its determination to help Learners achieve the highest possible standards.

Our Quality Assurance Policy is in place to ensure such continuous improvement through a process of self-evaluation and action planning. The Quality Assurance Policy and associated procedures involves all employees, Learners and collaborative partners such as the Care Inspectorate (CI), Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC), Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) and Skills Development Scotland (SDS). The quality assurance policy is managed through the existing organisational structure. The quality assurance procedures are founded in a process of regular self-evaluation by teams and internal and external audits and observations, in addition to Learner feedback and local training needs.